A Hoard of Board

It’s been a wonderful few days on the board game front as I’ve been able to pick up a few pieces that I’ve been wanting for a while and had something I’d backed on Kickstarter turn up unexpectedly. On a housekeeping note I finally got around to picking up the Big Geeky Box for Smash Up! A few months back I filled out the available space in the core box and had picked up the What Were We Thinking?  expansion so it was about time I picked up more storage. The only disappointing thing about the box is that it still leaves you needing to find a way of keeping the VP tokens together, but I already have some little storage pots that should do the trick. Looking forward to getting this back on the table over the next few weeks.

Smash Up Big Geeky Box

Secondly, thanks to some extra funds I got for my birthday, I bit the bullet and spent the €130 needed to get Blood Rage along with its Fifth Player Expansion and Mystics of Midgard expansion. I really enjoy the game but I didn’t want to just pick up the core game alone. We had a few friends over to continue our Pandemic Legacy Season One campaign last night (we lost on outbreaks) and I decided to take out Blood Rage afterwards. Thankfully, after months of me gushing about the game, everyone enjoyed it though we ran out of time before playing the Third Age. Now that everyone knows how the game plays though, they’re really looking forward to giving it a more informed play through.

Finally, I got a call from my dad yesterday to say that a packet was waiting for me at the local post centre. I still get my Kickstarter rewards sent to my parents house because their mortgage is paid off and there’s less chance of them moving. When I got to the post centre it turned out that the packet (as it was marked on the delivery notice) was actually a large box containing Nova Aetas along with its first expansion and a few extra models. I only got an email from the shipping company last week to say I could expect it in 4-6 weeks so it was a huge surprise that it arrived. Unfortunately a few models didn’t survive shipping but a drop of glue and most of them are now ready to hit the table. I can’t wait to give this one a try.

Nova Aetas

Leave a Reply

